A Closer Look at the Seven Deadly Sins Characters

The Seven Deadly Sins is a manga and anime series written and illustrated by Nakaba Suzuki.  It takes place during a time like the European Middle Ages in a fictional Britannia. The series references traditions such as Christianity.

The Seven Deadly Sins in the Kingdom of Liones were the highest and cruelest order of the Holy Knights. They were created by seven violent criminals, all of whom had been guilty of heinous crimes.


The seven deadly sins characters etched on their bodies the symbols of seven beasts. They were eventually dissolved after having been framed for killing the Great Holy Knight, Up next you’re going to learn more about them.

A Closer Look at the Seven Deadly Sins Characters
Image Source: Morning Picker


Meliodas, formerly the owner of the renowned tavern Boar Hat, is the Dragon’s Sin of Wrath and the captain of the Seven Deadly Sins. He is the series’ main protagonist. 

The Demon Sword Lostvayne is his Sacred Treasure and his intrinsic strength is Full Counter.


He was also, as Meliodas the Love, the head of the Ten Commandments, and a former member of Stigma. He is Zeldris’ older brother and the Demon King’s eldest son.


She is the Serpent’s Sin of Envy. She is a member of the Giant Clan and is therefore significantly bigger than ordinary individuals, including her fellow Deadly Sins.

The War Hammer Gideon, which she utilizes in tandem with her incredible power, Creation, is her Sacred Treasure. The strength of Diane was perfectly acknowledged by the former King of the Giant Clan, Drole, during the New Holy War arc.


After declaring her as his successor, he himself died protecting her, making her the Giants’ next potential ruler and the unofficial “Giant Queen.” She is also currently the Fairy Clan’s present King’s wife.


Ban is Fox’s Sin of Greed, Elaine’s husband, Lancelot’s father, and Benwick’s King. His Sacred Treasure is Courechouse, the Holy Rod. He is considered to be extremely resilient and formerly immortal.

His hair is short, spiky, and pale blue; his eyebrows are thin black, and his eyes are scarlet-red. He has a big scar given to him by Meliodas on the left side of his jaw and extending down to his neck.


The Grizzly Sin of Sloth is the King. His true name is Fairy King Harlequin, and he is the guardian of the Fairy King’s Forest and the Fairy Realm.

The Spirit Spear Chastiefol, which he uses in accordance with his intrinsic power, Disaster, is His Sacred Treasure. He is also Elaine’s older brother, and also Diane’s husband.


He is the Goat’s Sin of Lust. Gowther, formed by a great wizard, was confirmed to be a doll, and is a former member of the Ten Commandments, acting as the proxy of his maker throughout his time with the Commandments.

The Twin Bow, Herritt, which he uses in association with his innate power, Invasion, is his Sacred Treasure.


Merlin is the Boar’s Sin of Gluttony. In Britannia, she is known as the greatest mage.

The Morning Star Aldan, a floating orb she can summon at will and always uses in combination with her spells and her intrinsic Infinity power, is her Sacred Treasure.

In reality, the name “Merlin” is an alias, as her real name is difficult to pronounce for humans.


The Lion’s Sin of Pride, the former second prince of the Kingdom of Castellio, and the man regarded as the “Strongest Holy Knight” in the Kingdom of Liones, was Escanor.

The Divine Axe, Rhitta, was his Holy Treasure, and his intrinsic power was called Sunshine. This power made him famous for acquiring tremendous power during the day, but at night he became vulnerable and submissive.


The Seven Deadly Sins were created, unknown to even most of its members, for the sole purpose of defeating the Ten Commandments of the Demon Clan.

Every sin in this manga s named after the moral weakness of the crimes the character’s crimes. They also bear an emblematic mark of a beast on their skin.